Graduate funding

Scholarships covering fees, living expenses, or fees plus living expenses, are available to outstanding graduate applicants subject to eligibility.


To be considered for funding, candidates applying to start a course from October 2017 must have submitted their University application(s) for the course(s) for which they wish to be considered by the relevant January deadline in 2017.

How to apply:

Candidates applying for admission to a graduate course by the January deadline will automatically be considered for their eligibility for funding from a number of sources including:

  • the AHRC
  • the Clarendon Fund
  • Oxford Colleges
  • Benefactors and Trust Funds

Candidates wishing to be considered for an Ertegun Graduate Scholarship must:

  • indicate that they wish to be considered for this scholarship on their University course application form, and
  • submit a supporting statement.

Sources of funding 

The University, Division, Faculties and Colleges all have sources of funding available to graduate students. Major funding schemes include:

If you apply for a full- or part-time master's or DPhil course at Oxford by the January deadline for your course, you will automatically be considered for a Clarendon Scholarship.

Applications for entry in 2017-18 can be submitted from 1 September 2016. If you wish to be considered for Clarendon, you must apply before the January deadline for your course. You can find the deadlines for your chosen course on the relevant Course page.



To be considered for an Ertegun Graduate Scholarship candidates need to submit a supporting statement in addition to indicating that they wish to be considered for this particular scholarship on their University application. 

The Ertegun Graduate Scholarship Programme in the Humanities was established in 2012. The programme makes available a number of scholarships each year. Candidates apply for scholarships at the same time as they apply for a graduate course at Oxford.

For further information, see




The Centre for Doctoral Training (CDT) in Russian, Slavonic and East European languages and culture is a consortium of the University of Oxford, University College London (UCL) and the universities of Cambridge and Manchester, funded by the Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC).

For more information, including how to apply for studentships, see

The Centre for East European Language-Based Area Studies (CEELBAS) is a major collaboration between the universities of Bath, Birmingham, Cambridge, Kent, Manchester, Oxford, Sheffield, Warwick, the School of Oriental and African Studies at the University of London, and UCL. The main objectives of the Centre are to realise the UK's strategic commitment to the study of Central and Eastern Europe and Russia, to help set the research agenda for the study of the region and to inform policy, nationally and internationally.

For further information, see



The Weidenfeld-Hoffmann Scholarships and Leadership Programme cultivates the leaders of tomorrow by providing outstanding university graduates and professionals from developing and emerging economies with the opportunity to pursue fully-funded graduate studies at the University of Oxford, combined with a comprehensive programme of leadership development, long-term mentoring and networking.

For further information, see


Further Information

Please contact the Graduate Admissions and Funding Office if you have questions about applying to Oxford for graduate study:

List of site pages